Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Dear Father God,

I once remember a pastor saying that when you realize that you have lost your faith, go back to the last place that you remember standing steadfastly. Look around and evaluate where on the treacherous journey you took your eyes off Jesus and instead honed in on the billowing waves and crashing storm. Put on the life jacket of the promises that God gave you when you first set out. Find the source of your faith and don’t let go. Hang on for dear life, as you are pulled aboard once again.

I’ve sunk below the surface of the water so many times lately that the taste of sea water permanently lingers in my mouth. The salty spray has burned my eyes and cracked my resolve. Peace fled with the receding tide. When will I find my heart steadfast on You? When will I be able to sing with the hymn writer, “When peace, like a river, attendeth my way, / when sorrows like sea billows roll; / whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, / It is well, it is well with my soul.”

Over the summer, You gave me the promises of Psalm 30. The words shine like a lighthouse beam to my foundering trust, as I strive to praise You when my heart feels like lead.

I will extol You, O LORD, for You have lifted me up,

And not let my foes rejoice over me.

O LORD my God, I cried out to You, and You healed me.

Jesus, I do worship You. In my struggle, I once again place my life in Your hands. You have promised healing, and I will cling to those words for myself and for others in need of You. I pray for Lydia Anne, a friend’s unborn baby, that has been given minutes to live after birth. Please, make her perfect. Whether she snuggles in her daddy’s arms here on earth or finds her joy in Your lap, please make her whole. Beautiful. Precious. Alive.   

Sing praise to the LORD, you saints of His,

And give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name.

For His anger is but for a moment, His favor is for life;

Weeping may endure for a night,

But joy comes in the morning.

I’m waiting for dawn’s rays, Lord. Like Noah, I’m ready to get off this ark and walk onto dry land. Thank you for the haven that it has been, but I’m cramped and tired of smelling animals. I want some good, old-fashioned dirt beneath my feet. I want to dance. Dance in victory over the night. Dance in celebration of the morning.

You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;

You have put off my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness,

To the end that my glory may sing praise to You and not be silent.

O LORD my God, I will give thanks to You forever.

Father, I join the league of people waiting on You. You are our only hope. You are our only prayer. So many of my friends are praying and waiting for love. So many rely on You for their daily bread. So many are asking for revival. Revival in their homes. Revival in their churches. Revival in their cities. Hear our cries, Father.  In this season of Thanksgiving and Christmas, be Emanuel – GOD WITH US. You’ve tasted the storm, been drug under by the waves, and risen as Savior. Thank you. I will praise You even as I don’t understand. I will sing glory even as the water’s brine leaves salt in my mouth. May faith be the anchor of my soul.

