Tags

, , , , ,

The headline for this week should probably read: “After daily injections since July 3 (due to medical aide in this whole getting pregnant process), Tuesday, September 17, marked the final hormonal injection during this pregnancy!” Woohoo! I’m over-the-moon excited; however, I never imagined myself so adept at administering injections. I’ve given myself shots on a moving bus…in an airplane bathroom during take-off preparations…in countless restaurant bathrooms…at 5 a.m. in the morning…at midnight…

In somewhat related news, I go back in for blood work on Monday to confirm that my own hormones are stabilizing. Friday’s results were not as encouraging as we might have hoped for. My nurse didn’t seem concerned, but I am. I’m praying for this sweet baby’s health and safety this weekend, while dutifully following my doctor’s instructions. Sometimes this feels like a very long journey.

Anyway, the upside of lower hormone levels is that today I actually feel semi-normal. Now, I can’t stomach a cup of coffee, but I actually put the sheets in the washer and have big plans for cleaning the bathroom. I fixed myself a healthier lunch and…ate a PICKLE, caving into the pregnancy stereotype. On top of that, I demoed a new prenatal workout DVD, recently purchased from Amazon. Look for a prenatal workout DVD review from me soon. I believe I’ve now bought a total of five or six DVDs…clearly I’m a bit ambitious given my recent health! LOL.

On a more serious note, each day this week has been a reminder of my complete need to rely on the Lord. I’ve not missed a single class period, but have had to sit through some of my own lectures and will myself not to take my nauseousness out on unsuspecting students. God has been so good, and I’ve always had just enough strength. His reminder this week of the waves of His grace was just what I needed to get up, pack my lunch, and go to work.

Now for my traditional “Week 9” Pregnancy Update…

~~~

According to my phone’s Health & Parenting Pregnancy app, the beginning of week 9 marks the end of the “embryonic period” and the beginning of the “fetal” period. The kidneys, liver, brain, and lungs are all beginning to function. The baby’s head is now half the size of her body, and that little tail that made him or her resemble a tadpole is starting to disappear. With the right ultrasound doppler your doctor may even be able to hear the heartbeat, but depending on the position of the baby it may not be until week 12 before the heartbeat can be heard. The fingers and toes are still webbed, but this will completely disappear in the next few weeks. Even though the baby has fully developed eyes by now, they will still take quite a few weeks before they open. The baby is approximately the size of an olive or a grape. My uterus on the other hand is about the size of a grapefruit. 809161C98CFF4C53AD8D944EE92F2BA2.ashx

How far along? 9 weeks, 1 day

Total weight gain: -2 lb. from pre-pregnancy (This has been fluctuating quite a bit this week. At one point, I had gained 3 pounds back that I had lost. Interesting. Pretty sure it has to do with the fact that food is not digesting like it used to do.)

Maternity clothes? Not really, though I’ve continued to wear my maternity leggings and tank tops occasionally

Stretch marks?  No

Sleep: Exhausted all of the time. Feel as though I’ve been drugged. After teaching, I spend most of the evening (including dinner time) perched in bed with pillows and Netflix. This week was no exception.

Best moments this week: (1) Dressing up as a full-term pregnant woman for my school’s Spirit Week “Twins Day.” I decided to be my own twin, complete with signs reading “Me” and “Mini-Me.” Most of my students thought I had grown a belly overnight. LOL. (2) Laying in bed with horrible cramps while David amused himself for at least half an hour by talking to the baby. His lips were so close to my belly that I continually had to laugh at the impression his breath made on my skin despite my horrible cramps. He told her about our families, some football, quirks of his/her mama (Me!), and a number of other “important” matters. So sweet! IMG_1225

Miss Anything? Energy. Appreciation for healthy foods. Coffee.

Movement:  Unless all of the cramps counts, no… (Sorry…TMI)

Food cravings:  Changes about every 24-48 hours. This week I didn’t have as many cravings, as I did aversions. Most days I didn’t crave ANYTHING and it was a lot of work to find anything palatable. Strangely enough, I wish my budget allowed for a venti Awake or Earl Grey tea with two Splendas and two inches of steamed soy milk from Starbucks every morning. I’m not sure why, but that would be my drink of choice right now.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Life in general. Being awake. Coffee. Most sweets. Vegetables. Most meat/fish. Anything rich. Anything that I’ve eaten too many days in a row. Even my go-to Saltines have been losing their appeal.

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.

Symptoms:  Nausea. Exhaustion. Dizziness. Strong food aversions. Cramps (perhaps due to uterus moving higher up my torso and displacing other vital organs)

Belly Button in or out?  In.

Looking forward to:  Watching my belly grow AND a friend’s wedding this week in Montana that will require a road trip with friends 🙂 Yippee! Oh, and the promise that I’m almost off all my supplemental hormones! This past Tuesday was my last injection! This weekend I am down to only one pill a day. However, my blood work is starting to look a bit concerning, so I’m not sure how long this will last…

Next appointment:  September 22 for blood work and then September 26th to meet a different midwife with Avista Women’s Care. My first appointment with the Boulder Nurse Midwives went well, but I pretty immediately new that they weren’t a good fit for me. I’m trying out another practice that comes highly recommended by friends.

Sorry, no belly shots this week. I look bloated, and I suspect the first bit of a baby belly. Perhaps next week will be a big reveal 🙂 IMG_1232

If you missed last several week’s updates, then click below to read and see 7 week and 8 week update/photos.

7 Weeks Pregnant

8 Weeks Pregnant

