Tags

, , , ,

Right as I was about to be able to report that I was beginning to feel a bit more like myself and even exercise a bit more, a nasty head cold hit, and I’ve been under the influence since Tuesday night/Wednesday morning. Yuck.

In other news, Fall is beginning to creep into the Denver weather reports, and glorious reds and yellows are dotting the tree line. I’ve somehow wanted to let Baby Hasz know about this beautiful change…the colors and the smells and the cool wind. I guess for now I will have to be content that Baby is warm and happy in my belly.

Since pizza and a movie have been promised by my wonderful husband this Friday night, I won’t keep you. On to the official update…

~~~

According to my phone’s Health & Parenting Pregnancy app, during week 12 (the last week of the first trimester) the baby’s live and spleen are now producing blood cells, and the pancreas is beginning to release digestive enzymes. My baby’s liver accounts for 10% of the total weight, which is about half an ounce by now. The muscular system and nervous system are responding to each other and my baby is now able to bend, stretch, kick, and even make faces. These movements are not occurring in response to any particular stimulation, but are occurring nevertheless.   20431227ED294BD3B2513A34A93612BB.ashx

How far along? 12 weeks

Total weight gain: Back up to about pre-pregnancy weight, which is a 3-4 pound weight gain in the past couple of weeks

Maternity clothes? Not really, but I’m looking into them. Stretchy waistbands are my friends!

Stretch marks?  No

Sleep: Really struggling this week. I have experienced horrible cramps in my calves and feet that keep me awake. I also can’t seem to get comfortable. Right as I think I’m going to doze off, a random body part often falls asleep and leaves me with that yucky, tingling sensation. My best bet is on my side with a pillow between my legs. My head cold has not been helping matters.

Best moments the past week: (1) Buying a DREAM Timi & Leslie diaper bag on Amazon! Somehow, I realized afterward, I needed that splurge to help my pregnancy feel real. (2) Beautiful fall weather! IMG_1265

Miss Anything? Energy. Sleep. Being able to breathe out of my nose.

Movement:  No…but I can’t wait!

Food cravings:  Still in love with strawberry cream cheese. Orange juice. Bread.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Most meat/fish. Anything fried/greasy. Most sweets (sadly, including dark chocolate). More than about 1/2 a cup of coffee. Anything that I’ve eaten too much of lately.

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.

Symptoms:  Decreased nausea. Extreme exhaustion. Decreased dizziness. Strong food aversions. Lack of motivation. Hands falling asleep. Leg cramps.

Belly Button in or out?  In.

Looking forward to:  Actually having a real bump!

Next appointment:  October 21 with a wonderful midwife at Avista Women’s Care. If you missed other pregnancy updates… IMG_1272

Just in case you didn’t notice the bump, see arrow below 🙂 IMG_1273IMG_1271

7 Weeks Pregnant

8 Weeks Pregnant

9 Weeks Pregnant

10 and 11 Weeks Pregnant

