Tags

, , ,

The whoosh of the umbilical cord and the pounding of the heart beat filled the small office, as I lay with my eyes closed, picturing my sweet Baby growing perfect and strong in my expanding belly.

Peace ricocheted from every corner of that room, as once again the beating heart proclaimed that all is well.

I walked out of the office smiling…then promptly began sobbing while driving home.

Baby Hasz is alive.

Will be coming home in my arms in April.

Sweet, sweet dream becoming a promised fulfilled.

~~~

0FDF846E2E7846959E96135BA5F9E0BC.ashxBaby’s now the size of a lemon and about 3.5 inches long! According to my phone’s Pregnancy app, Baby is now twisting and turning all the tiny joints in the body, and continually moving around. Lanugo – the tiny hairs present all over a baby’s body – is growing. These will eventually form the fingerprints pattern on his/her fingers. Baby’s skin is very translucent at this point and all the tiny veins in the body are visible. The lungs continue to develop and Baby is practicing breathing with the amniotic fluid on a regular basis. Baby may be sucking his/her thumb by now. Baby can frown, grimace and squint, and baby’s reflexes are becoming stronger and more frequent. Arms are now proportionate to the body, but the legs are still somewhat shorter.   

How far along? 14 weeks, 2 days

Total weight gain: Maybe 1/2 pound to a pound or so. I’m expecting to put on 1/2 to 1 pound per week from here on out. My midwife actually told me that I probably need to eat MORE in the coming weeks. David and I just laughed. Not sure that is possible.

Maternity clothes? Not really, but I’m still looking into them. Honestly, I haven’t had the energy to shop, and I don’t trust myself to buy online yet until I kind of know what size range I am looking for. Leggings and long tunic shirts are my friends!

Stretch marks?  No

Sleep: Exhausted all of the time! I’ve been in bed by about 7:30 most nights; however, I haven’t found a comfortable way to sleep yet. Still thinking about trying out several maternity pillows to help hold my body in an appropriate position, but they are so expensive!

Best moments the past week: (1) Hearing Baby’s heart beat! (2) Exercising more regularly. (3) My splurge – a massage!

Miss Anything? Energy. Sleep. Coffee. Knowing what to wear in the mornings and, more specifically, what is going to feel comfortable on my body for the next 9 hours or so before I can slip into pajamas again.

Movement:  No…but I can’t wait!

Food cravings:  BREAD! Hunks of bread. Slices of bread. Toasted bread. Bread with butter. Bread with jelly. Bread with peanut butter. I’m in love with a loaf of Cranberry Sunflower Whole Wheat bread that I bought from Great Harvest Company.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Coffee. The 215 pounds of elk meat in our freezer. The bag of elk jerky in our pantry. Not eating often enough (how is that even possible?!?).

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.

Symptoms:  Exhaustion. Hunger. I’m actually tired of eating due to the fact that it is a semi-constant activity. Stretching ligaments, skin, and belly. Several days this week I simply felt like my torso was going to explode, as it all felt so tight and uncomfortable. Had 8 straight hours of cramps on Friday. I’m thinking that I’ll be popping out soon!

Belly Button in or out?  In.

Looking forward to:  Our gender reveal the weekend of November 2nd!

Next appointment:  November 19 at Avista Women’s Care when we will test for Spina Bifida and once again listen to baby’s heart beat. IMG_1295

 

If you missed other pregnancy updates…

7 Weeks Pregnant

8 Weeks Pregnant

9 Weeks Pregnant

10 and 11 Weeks Pregnant

12 Weeks Pregnant

13 Weeks Pregnant

