Tags

, , , ,

IMG_6242Sometimes the wonder of a moment takes your breath away. My first ice storm. Leading someone to Christ. When David proposed. Walking down the aisle. Graduating college. Being called “Mrs. Hasz” for the first time.

Sometimes the wonder is just so precious that you want to bottle it up tight and hold it close when the winters seem long and the weeks longer still. Perhaps, we wish, the magic will be strong enough to warm the weary heart. IMG_6256 IMG_6245

This weekend, I’m bottling one of those moments. Honestly, it’s been an entire season of breathtaking wonder. For 15 whole weeks now, I’ve dreamed of this little one growing inside of me. David and I have dreamed and prayed and hoped and lived the magic of this miracle.

This miracle that I cradled in my dreams for the past 3.5 years of infertility.

This miracle that family prayed for, friends cheered for, and students wrote me letters about. 

This miracle of a baby. IMG_6255

A baby that this week, David and I are overjoyed to announce is a perfect little GIRL!

~Abigail Nichelle Hasz~

Her name is a combination of promises that God gave David and I along this journey. Abigail, meaning “Father’s Delight,” is in honor of two sets of grandparents. David’s beloved Grammy Gayle and my grandmother Gail. Nichelle, both of African and Hebrew origin, means “Victory” and “Like God.” This summer when I was wrestling with a miscarriage and doubts, God spoke that name to me as a reassurance of His perfect timing. Nichelle is also in honor of my mama, Nicole, and David’s mom, Michelle. There could not be two women more perfect for our little girl to emulate.

Now that the secret is out, we ask for your prayers. As we hold no superstitions regarding waiting for birth to share a baby’s name, we purposely ask that you pray God’s promises over her. May she be a delight to all. May she be a woman who walks in victory. May she be empowered by the legacies of grandmothers and great-grandmothers.

I’m in awe.

A little girl.

Abby.   IMG_6259

IMG_6267~~~

Abigail is now the size of a orange and about 4 inches long! According to my phone’s Pregnancy app, Abby is now able to rub her eyes, yawn and even blink. Her hairline is forming and hair is starting to grow on her head. Even the eyelashes and eyebrows are growing. She is also able to hear sounds now.  

How far along? 15 weeks

Total weight gain: Maybe 1/2 pound to a pound or so. I’m expecting to put on 1/2 to 1 pound per week from here on out. It fluctuates a lot depending on my digestion, which as definitely slowed down!

Maternity clothes? Waiting for my first pair of jeans to arrive in the mail from an ebay seller. Leggings and long tunic shirts are my friends! Getting dressed is a frustrating process.

Stretch marks?  No

Sleep: Exhausted all of the time! Trying out a body pillow that a friend loaned me, but it still doesn’t hold me on my side, as I am a very active sleeper. I have a feeling that I’m going to have to buy an actual maternity pillow.

Best moments the past week: (1) David rubbing my belly and sore muscles one rare night when he wasn’t actually doing homework into the wee hours of the morning, and (2) Telling some amazing friends from one of the first church ministries that David and I were involved in after we were married that we are having a girl! Dollar store pink silly string is fabulous!

Miss Anything? Energy. A body that doesn’t feel like it is being stretched and pulled in every which direction. (I’m not complaining…it is all so worth it!)

Movement:  No…but I can’t wait! I’m getting a bit anxious, as several friends, who are also about at this same point in pregnancy, have felt flutterings.

Food cravings:  Still in love with bread. Aged hard cheeses have been added to the list. Sweets. Candy.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not eating often enough (how is that even possible?!?). Nausea has actually made a reappearance this week nearly daily, and I have had some pretty yucky mornings at work.

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.

Symptoms:  Exhaustion. Stretching ligaments, skin, and belly. Bloating.

Belly Button in or out?  In.

Looking forward to:  Feeling Abby move!

Next appointment:  November 19 at Avista Women’s Care when we will test for Spina Bifida and once again listen to baby’s heart beat.

If you missed other pregnancy updates…

7 Weeks Pregnant

8 Weeks Pregnant

9 Weeks Pregnant

10 and 11 Weeks Pregnant

12 Weeks Pregnant

13 Weeks Pregnant

14 Weeks Pregnant

