Tags

, , , ,

Friends, I’m too exhausted to write anything other than the rather boring weekly update. Abby has taken to waking me up at 4:30 a.m. even on weekends, and I’m fighting a cold, so here goes…

IMG_1309

Abigail is now the size of an avocado and about 4.5 inches long! According to my phone’s Pregnancy app, Abby’s heart is now pumping 25 quarts of blood every day. She is continually becoming more active and is busy practicing all those movements that her tiny body has already learnt to perform. The bones inside her body are hardening and the tiny legs and arms are now completely formed. Even though her eyes are still closed, they are making little movements and even have the ability to sense changes in light through her eyelids. Her flexible thumbs are now able to grasp, preparing for the day when she will wrap her tiny hand around my finger.   

How far along? 16 weeks, 3 days

Total weight gain: Maybe 1/2 pound. In a bit of consternation, I talked to my mom. Apparently, her weight gain was identical during her pregnancy with me. She still gained about 30 pounds in pregnancy, but didn’t really put on any weight till the very end of her second trimester. My fears were a bit allayed by that information. I’m eating SOOOO much that one would imagine that I would be packing on the pounds!

Maternity clothes? Maternity leggings and long tunic shirts are my friends! I’ve bought one pair of jeans and some tank tops. Getting dressed is a frustrating process, as my belly bump is much bigger by the end of the day and hard to keep comfortable.

Stretch marks?  No

Sleep: Very tired this weekend, especially since Abby has picked 4:30 a.m. as her favorite time of day! Trying out a body pillow that a friend loaned me, but it still doesn’t hold me on my side, as I am a very active sleeper. I have a feeling that I’m going to have to buy an actual maternity pillow.

Best moments the past week: (1) Calling Abby by name in public now without fear of having to keep  our secret any longer. (2) *Maybe* feeling Abby move during church on Sunday at 16 weeks, 2 days.

Miss Anything? My love for coffee. All of the seasonal drinks are being drunk without me! A body that doesn’t feel like it is being stretched and pulled in every which direction. (I’m not complaining…it is all so worth it!)

Movement: I *think* I felt Abby during church on Sunday. Honestly, I don’t really pause enough in my day to notice most movement, as it blends in with the other strange stretching, pulling, and digestive issues of late! 

Food cravings:  Not really.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not eating often enough (how is that even possible?!?). Smells. Cooking meat. Body odor. Middle school hallways.

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.

Symptoms:  Exhaustion. Stretching ligaments, skin, and belly. Bloating.

Belly Button in or out?  In.

Looking forward to:  Feeling Abby move a lot more in the future!

Next appointment:  November 19 at Avista Women’s Care when we will test for Spina Bifida and once again listen to baby’s heart beat.

If you missed other pregnancy updates…

7 Weeks Pregnant

8 Weeks Pregnant

9 Weeks Pregnant

10 and 11 Weeks Pregnant

12 Weeks Pregnant

13 Weeks Pregnant

14 Weeks Pregnant

15 Weeks Pregnant

