Tags

, , ,

I can’t even explain why I’m emotional today. Maybe it’s just because…well…I’m pregnant. Perhaps it is because I’m fighting a cold/allergies/exhaustion today. Perhaps because all of the sudden I have realized that Abby really is arriving soon, and part of me doesn’t feel prepared at all.

It is just one of those days.

Today’s ultrasound showed that Abby is still growing and seemingly happy and healthy. However, her growth is slow, and she is in the 4th percentile, weighing 2 pounds 15 ounces (9 days behind schedule). Her blood flow in her brain is excellent, and she was wiggling all over the ultrasound screen. However, her blood flow in her cord was slightly abnormal, and doctors still plan to “watch her like a hawk.” Continue my twice weekly appointments.

All in all, good news. Unless something drastically improves, they are planning to induce me at 37 weeks, which is around April 4. Technically, that is full term, but I know three weeks before a baby’s due date can still carry risks and potential NICU stay. I should be over-the-moon-excited with her steady growth, but today I’m tired. Pregnant. And worried about my little girl. And amazed that God is still preserving her safe inside of me. Hopefully, at least six more precious weeks.

