Tags

, , ,

As I slipped out of bed at 5:33 am after two longer night feedings at 11:30 pm and 2:30 am, my glance immediately fell to David’s side of the bed where crumpled sheets and disheveled pillows were the only testaments to his prior presence. My need for coffee certainly dominated my thoughts this morning, but still my heart yearned for the man who had already left for work. IMG_2048

As my bare feet walked quietly past Abby’s nursery door and into the bathroom, a whiff of David’s masculine aftershave scent encircled me. Despite the hair left in the bathroom sink, I love the smell of whatever it is he uses when shaving. I smiled…then grimaced at my own 5:33 am reflection. Wow, but I really need that coffee…

My husband works hard, folks, really hard. He pours himself wholeheartedly into the tasks at hand. For me. For our family. He may not be the most “romantic,” but his integrity and passion won my heart long ago. IMG_2053 IMG_2054 Coffee in hand, I sit cross-legged for a few precious moments before Abby awakes, reading and meditating. My most recent devotional book, “Praying Circles Around Your Children,” reminds me of the poignant, powerful responsibility David and I have in the coming years to intercede for Abby. For future sons or daughters. But, this morning, thoughts of David still linger uppermost in my mind. And, I ponder the power of the prayers that I’ve been praying for him since I was a little girl. IMG_2055

A little girl with knight-in-shining-armor dreams.

A little girl who knew not what the future would hold, but knew that she didn’t want to walk into it alone.

A little girl who filled journals with dreams and hopes – many of which contain prayers for the man that now leaves hair in our sink, his scent in our bathroom, and his own devotional near our bed.

Prayers that centered around Psalm 1. The same Psalm that I pray for him this morning, as he faces long hours at a desk while I entertain our teething toddler. Neither task easy to be sure. IMG_2052

~~~

“Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the paths of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful; But his delight is in the law of the LORD, and in His law he meditates day and night…”

~~~

David Hasz, I pray this morning that you would delight in the manifestation of God’s presence in the humdrum everyday work that you strive to achieve. I pray that you would stand even firmer in your principles as we look to a future that involves a job in the corporate world.

~~~

“He shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that brings forth its fruit in its season, whose leaf also shall not wither; and whatever he does shall prosper…”

~~~

David, this morning I pray the same words that I’ve been asking the Lord to fulfill for 20 years now. Words that you could find written in my childhood journals. I pray that you would flourish in your current calling. I pray that you would prosper even if your industry doesn’t. I pray that God would work miracles on behalf of our family and plant us someplace that is “home.” I pray for deep roots. For new life. For fruit in this season and those to come.

I love you, David.

IMG_2056

*All photos taken by Rachael {Hope} Photography for our first Christmas card in Colorado back in winter 2008 in Olde Town Arvada*

